How to get Kindle for iPad in Singapore

Kindle App for iPad

Having used the Kindle Touch for a few months, I love it. It’s light, the battery life is good and more importantly, my eyes don’t feel tired as there is no glare from the screen. In fact, everything is good about the Kindle Touch, except for one thing – viewing pictures in colour. E-ink, with its multiple shades of grey, is capable of displaying crisp text and detailed graphics. However, it does not display in colour. While this is not a problem for most books, it’s a huge minus point for graphics intensive publications such as magazines and cook books. Amazon actually has a Kindle app (compatible with Kindle reader) for most devices such as Android, iPad, iPhone, PC and Mac and this app supports full color. Kindle app is free and has the same user experience as the Kindle reader.I have the Kindle app installed on my MacBook for some time already and there hasn’t any issues with it at all. Installation on PC and Mac is easy – Just run the installer from Amazon and you are done; regardless of where you are (in the world). Installation of Kindle app on iPad or iPhone, on the other hard, is tricky. It must be done via iTunes and the list of available applications is location-specific; for people whose locations are not in the supported countries (such as Singapore), Kindle app will not be available in their iTunes store. The workaround this is simple – change your Apple App Store to United States. But do note that creating an account for the US App Store when you’re not based in the US is against Apple’s terms and conditions, so I’m not recommending that you do it. But for the sake of discussion, here’s a way to workaround this issue, i.e. how to create an iTunes account with location in United States. This workaround is good for downloading of any free apps, such as Kindle, since it doesn’t require any billing information. You can refer to Apple’s instructions here on how to do it . However, if your intention is to download paid apps from the US App Store, you will need a valid US registered credit card or iTunes gift card.

iTunes Account Creation Error

It seems that Apple had recently updated their billing address verification and it doesn’t accept my VPOST USA address (as shown in the error above). I am very sure my VPOST USA address works as I had already bought a few items shipped to it with no issues. After some googling, somebody mentioned that iTunes accepts Apple’s own address. If you face the same issue, try the address below and it may help.

Address: 1 Infinite Loop

City: Cupertino

State: CA

Zip Code: 95014-2083

Area Code: 212

Phone: 2263127

Once you have successfully created the US iTunes account, you need to log out of your iTunes stores and re-login again with the newly created account. You may receive a warning that the app store will be changed from your current location to US and that’s normal. You should be able to install Amazon Kindle in your iPad/iPhone now.

BTW, if you already had downloaded some apps onto your iPad or iPhone (with your iTunes Singapore store), don’t worry about losing them cos any downloaded apps will remain in the device. 😉

27 thoughts on “How to get Kindle for iPad in Singapore

  1. Hi, Nice info but when I try to create the iTune account for US, I don’t get option of “none” under payment option. I am trying to create an account from Malaysia. Any help?

  2. Hi, Thanks for reply. I tred all means to creat an Apple account without credit card .i.e. installing older version of itune, on dfferent laptops, on ipad but no succeess. I was logged out from my current apple ID and was browsing the apps store. Upon clicking the one of “install apps” i got the option like creat an apple ID or use existing ID (usal ones that we get when we are not loggged on Apple store). I thought to try one more time via this route and it works. So i found out that if one try to creat an apple ID just direct from Apple store (without intend to buy any apps) we havee to provide the credit card details while when one try to install the app and creat and Apple ID (like above) then only it will give you an option to creat an Apple ID w/o credit card.
    Anyway, thanks for your help.
    I managed to installed Kindle fire on my ipad 4.

  3. Very helpful information! I managed to successfully install Kindle and some free apps available only on the US store on my 4th generation ipad. Thank you!

  4. Hi. Thanks for this article. I’d like to ask about installing Kindle books to the iPad after one has successfully installed the Kindle app. Hope you can provide the procedure for doing this. Thanks. 🙂

  5. I also used this method selecting Australia instead of US as Kindle is available in Australia, and used a friend’s address for the account.

  6. Just purchased a new Kindle via Amazon and was trying to sync the same on my iPhone.Glad I found your page. Managed to use my Australia head office address and number to create an account. Surely your blog helps a lot. Let’s hope Amazon really see the things we are willing to do to just get that Kindle app! Cheers! Thank you!

  7. Hi, I’m trying to download the Kindle for Mac app, which can only be downloaded through the Mac App Store. Unfortunately, the app is not available for Singapore.

    So, I tried your method and created a US-based Apple ID (using the Cupertino address). I was able to create and verify the new Apple ID, but when i tried to sign in to the Mac App Store, it requested for payment details. I re-read the Apple support link that you provided, and realised that when using the App Store for the first time, we must provide a payment method, and then change to payment information to “none” only after we sign in to the Store. (http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT203905)

    As it looks like I don’t have a choice, i entered my credit card detail (Singapore-based), and filled in the area code and telephone number for the Cupertino address, because when i created the Apple ID, these fields weren’t necessary. But when i tried to proceed, an error message suggests that i approach Apple customer support. I re-tried, this time entering a different (legitimate) company address i googled. The same error message persisted.

    Any idea if my signing in to the App Store didn’t work because my credit card uses a Singapore address, or because the App Store detected that i’m in Singapore instead of the US? I did specially downloaded a VPN service hoping to hide my IP, but seeing as this is my first time using VPN, it could be that it wasn’t working, so Amazon (still) knows that i’m in Singapore.

    Side note:
    I’m actually trying to get the Kindle desktop app so that i can download the ebook i just bought from Amazon to my computer. I do not own any Kindle devices, and was planning to convert the ebook so that i may add it to iBook. Basically i just need to get the ebook soft copy somehow. So if you’ve got suggestions on how i can obtain the .epub file (or whatever format) of the ebook, it would save me from all the hassle from trying to get the Mac App Store to work (as above).

    Hope you know of some ways around this. Thanks in advance!

    • Hi, I just read the link (http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT203905) and it seems that Apple may have changed their policies. This requirement for a valid US credit card when using the iTunes for the first time is new (to me).

      Sorry. I don’t have a solution for you. But I know for sure that your Singapore-based credit card can’t be used. I believe your problem has nothing to do with the signing into the App Store as American travellers in Singapore should be allowed to sign into their (legitimate) App Store, right ?

      • Hi, thanks for your reply.

        Yeah, i suppose this means Singapore-based cards & user IDs can’t be used for my purpose.

        Hope the relevant authorities can change this situation soon though. Buying ebooks shouldn’t be made so difficult.

        Thanks for replying though!

Leave a Reply

