Crumpler Haven (L) Review

Crumpler – A Brand I Trust

Crumpler bags need no further introduction. I own a few crumpler bags (The Customary Barge, The 5 Million Dollar Home, Breakfast Buffet, etc) and all of them are products of the highest quality. Although the prices of crumpler bags have increased to a rather “ridiculous” level (in my opinion), it’s still a brand that will come up first whenever I need to get a new bag. ◕ิ‿◕ิ

As some of you might know, I have recently upgraded to Nikon’s latest Full Frame camera (D600) and what follows after the upgrade is an inexorable “wardrobe” change. Hey, this is not an excuse, ok? All my previous lenses were not full frame capable and naturally I had to buy new (FX) lenses to maximize the potential of the camera, right? Not only the lenses need to be changed, even accessories such as bags and straps also become inadequate for  a “professional” camera such as Nikon D600. Ok, enough “justifications”.  Crumpler Haven (L) was my latest purchase. Kekeke.

Haven (L) can barely take these equipment (D600 and Nikkor 16-35mm, Nikkor 28-300mm, Nikon SB-800)

One of the main reasons why I chose a camera pouch over a camera bag is that I usually carry a lot more stuff that are non-photography related. What I really need is just a pouch that will protect my camera gear when I am on the move and most of the time, I don’t carry a lot of lenses. After some consideration, I decided that Crumpler Haven (L) is the one.

Generally, I am very happy with this purchase. The padding feels good and the dividers are firm; the feel-good factor is strong. If there’s anything that should be improved on the product, I think it should be its size. You may have noticed in the picture above that there are no lens hoods. Well, I didn’t forget about them. They were not in the picture as there was absolutely no space for them in the pouch, even if there were reversed-mounted on the lenses. This is where the extra little teeny weeny space will be very useful.

Spacious and rectangular interior

Camera facing down in the middle, with extra lens and speedlight on the left and right pockets

Barely wrapped around the D600 due to the length of the Nikkor 16-35mm

The expectation of putting big lenses in a small camera pouch such as Crumpler Haven is probably an unfair one. For me, I usually have two types of configuration for my camera bags. The first is when I am traveling with family for holidays. In this mode, I usually carry a lot more non-photography related stuff such as sweaters, hand-warmers, iPad, and what have you. Thus, my tendency is to bring a travel lens (e.g. 28-300mm)  and another prime lens. The second type of configuration is when I am on a photo-trip. In this mode, I will usually bring more photography related stuff such as tripod, filters and more lenses. Crumpler Haven is meant for the former, where I could put the camera (safely) in my normal backpack.

Strictly speaking, Haven (L) can take more than those shown in the picture above, if the lens is removed from the camera body. Also, I suspect that it should be big enough for most entry to mid range DSLRs as their bodies are smaller than the Nikon D600 in the picture.

And now the final question. Is this pouch worth the money? Let’s put it this way. There are cheaper alternatives in the market and although the price differences in terms of percentage can be quite substantial, the absolute amount is actually not much. Personally, I will pay the difference. 😉

Dimensions (As taken from Crumpler Website)

Haven (L)

Haven (M)

Haven (S)

Width:

26 cm / 10.2 inches 22 cm / 8.6 inches 20 cm / 7.8 inches

Height:

23.5 cm / 9.2 inches 22 cm / 8.6 inches 22 cm / 8.6 inches

Depth:

14 cm / 5.5 inches 12 cm / 4.7 inches 10 cm / 3.9 inches

Volume:

4 L / 244 cu” 3 L / 183 cu” 2 L / 122 cu”

Weight:

0.3 kg / 0.66 lbs 0.23 kg / 0.5 lbs 0.2 kg / 0.44 lbs
2 thoughts on “Crumpler Haven (L) Review

Leave a Reply

